Connect with us


Zach Thomas joined by UM greats Reggie Wayne, Devin Hester, Andre Johnson as Pro Football Hall of Fame finalists are announced – Twin Cities



Former Miami Dolphins linebacking great Zach Thomas was named a Pro Football Hall of Fame finalist for the third consecutive year, and was joined by Miami Hurricanes legendary return man Devin Hester and wide receivers Reggie Wayne and Andre Johnson among the 15 players revealed to have made the penultimate cut.

The class will be announced live on the “NFL Honors” telecast scheduled to air at 9 p.m. ET on Feb. 10, three days before Super Bowl in Los Angeles.

Thomas was a five-time All-Pro and a seven-time Pro Bowl player with the Dolphins.


Thomas’ standout career is almost identical to first-ballot Hall of Fame linebacker Brian Urlacher, who was enshrined in 2017.

Thomas played in two more games (184), had one more All-Pro honor, and one fewer Pro Bowl selection than Urlacher, the 2007 Defensive Player of the Year when the Chicago Bears reached the Super Bowl.

Thomas finished his career with 1,734 total tackles, and his 1,107 solo tackles are more than any other Hall of Fame linebacker besides Ray Lewis and Derrick Brooks.

Thomas also had 17 career interceptions, four pickoffs for touchdowns, eight fumble recoveries and 20.5 sacks with Miami.

Thomas, a fifth-round pick out of Texas Tech in 1996, was inducted into the Dolphins Ring of Honor in 2012. He was also a member of the 2000′s NFL All-Decade Team.


Ten other Dolphins greats are already enshrined in the Hall of Fame: Paul Warfield, Larry Csonka, Jim Langer, Bob Griese, Larry Little, Don Shula, Dwight Stephenson, Nick Buoniconti, Dan Marino, and Jason Taylor.

Additionally, six other shorter-time former members of the Dolphins franchise — Jimmy Johnson, Junior Seau, Cris Carter, Thurman Thomas, Bobby Beathard and Bill Parcells — are also enshrined.

This is a developing story.

Source link