Connect with us

Minnesota Vikings

Vikings WR Adam Thielen named finalist for Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award – Twin Cities



A day after Adam Thielen was placed on season-ending injured reserve, the Vikings wide receiver was named Thursday one of eight finalists for the NFL’s Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award.

Each NFL team nominated one player for the award, and Thielen was named the Vikings’ nominee on Dec. 9. The list of 32 nominees was cut down to eight by a vote from former NFL players Larry Fitzgerald, Warrick Dunn, Curtis Martin and Leonard Wheeler.

Four finalists are from the NFC and four from the AFC. Others from the NFC are Tampa Bay linebacker Lavonte David, New Orleans defensive end Cameron Jordan and San Francisco fullback Kyle Juszczyk. Selected from the AFC were Buffalo quarterback Josh Allen, Houston wide receiver Brandin Cooks, Miami defensive back Jason McCourty and New England wide receiver and special teams ace Matthew Slater.


The winner will be chosen by a vote of current NFL players and will be announced at NFL Honors on Feb. 10 in Inglewood, Calif, three days before Super Bowl LVI is held there. The award is presented each year to a player who best demonstrates the qualities of on-field sportsmanship.

Thielen suffered a high left ankle sprain on Dec. 5 at Detroit, missed two games, and was reinjured in last Sunday’s 30-23 loss to the Los Angeles Rams. He underwent season-ending ankle surgery on Tuesday before being placed on injured reserve Wednesday.

Previous winners of the award have included wide receiver Fitzgerald, a Minneapolis native, with Arizona in 2014, running back Adrian Peterson, a former Vikings star, with Washington in 2019, and quarterback Teddy Bridgewater, formerly with Minnesota, with Carolina in 2020.

Source link